Ukraine Update

Hi!

 

I’ll post up the older and written out posts concerning Russia and Ukraine (and predictions) when I have more time, I promise. For the mean time, however, there’s this:

 

Ukraine, in a recent (1 minute ago) news update, showed broken down buildings, a mysterious crater (evidence of a small-scale missile, perhaps?) and speculations on how long the brave, eccentric but competant army-people SEPARATISTS will be able to hold out against Russia. Speculations on how there seems to be ‘an air of resignation’ about the place, that they’ll fight til the end.

 

And mentioning of the Russian-elected (UNLAWFULLY) leader of the force to invade   sorry (except not really) ‘occupy’ Ukraine, resigning and being replaced by another. Perhaps due to his failure to Immediately Join Ukraine With Mother Russia? Eventhough, you know (or you  history-lovers will, anyway), Ukraine is kindof maybe importantly part of something called the ‘push barrier’ (I think; for some reason I forget this term from time to time. It accounts for all the neutral lands i.e. Poland, Ukraine in between Russia and the West- that no one takes over or breaches as it’s the protective layer that ensures no war or take overs. Hence, if anyone tries to breach it….the other non-trusting side will see, see?).

Hitler-walking-over-the-Spineless-Leaders-of-Democracy-by-British-cartoonist-David-Low Putin 0225toonwasserman.r

I just hope no policy of appeasement is followed for Putin  the leader of Russia. Because it worked so well for Hitler, right? Oh wait. It didn’t.

 

As my old History Teacher taught me (one of many viewpoints):

 

What was wrong with appeasement?

Put bluntly:

  • “It rewarded and encouraged bullying, aggressive behaviour.
  • Hitler was untrustworthy.
  • Germany & Hitler grew stronger.
  • USSR were alienated from western allies.”

Replace Germany and Hitler with….you know.

Putin-Stalin_2

[Not my image: DISCLAIMED. Google search this?]

Also, I can’t remember right now (it has been a long day today, alright?)- but Putin openly did something that, when I witnessed on the news, I was sure would be a declaration of war. All but. Scary moment, that. Also, I should probably mention the so-called punitive(right word here?) punishment on Russians all over thanks to…whomever was attempting to ‘punish’ or discourage Putin. Bad idea, all I’m going to say.

Putin Ukraine 4

DISCLAIMED! Says: “PUTIN! STOP! COME BACK HERE OR I’LL BE FORCED TO DRAFT A STRONGLY WORDED CONDEMNATION!”

Also, maybe they should consider nipping this thing in the bud, whilst they can? It looks like it’ll be a fight either way, and this way, no real land and consequently forces have been gained (And people harmed/therefore lost).

DISCLAIMER: Not mine, found it on the internet. I'm sure if you drag this into google, you'll find who drew this epicness.

DISCLAIMER: Not mine, found it on the internet. I’m sure if you drag this into google, you’ll find who drew this epicness.

Just sayin’. Should’ve been done with Hitler; World War Two could’ve been, like, the battle of Germany-Rhineland and The Big Three. Or something similar.

For goodness sakes- put it down, and put it down hard.

Or darnwell get tacticle (like..ninjas…) and retrain troops better. and make the police have more pride and motivation on the home-front whilst you’re at it, World. Here in the UK they need some revving up. Not constant attacks, you know? Not good for anyone’s confidence or sense of camaraderie. Also, it’s bad that soldiers give…important parts of themselves -sometimes again and again- only to come home and be unsafe. So, yeah. Help the Police here in the UK too please.

(INSPIRE YOURSELF BY BLUE BLOODS. No, not the same- make it your own! But see how it’s worked elsewhere.)

Geez. If only.

Nami, OUT!

3 thoughts on “Ukraine Update

  1. Below the cartoon of Obama and Putin you’ve added a disclaimer saying that the picture isn’t yours and suggesting that the viewer use google image search to find out the original artist BUT the picture has a signature on it “Daryl Cagle” and also the web address of the were it was originally posted “politicalcartoons.com”. Don’t you think that your obvious inability to notice and/or check something so obvious nullifies any commentary you might make in the rest of your article?

    • Hi

      Obviously you have an opinion on what I wrote on my blog. Which, you know, is fair enough. If you’d state it, that would be much appreciated. Rather than, say, make points I…honestly do not quite understand the point of? An attempt to suggest I’m inept or to question my intelligence? I’m not quite sure.

      But since you’ve bothered to comment, I think I should probably reply. Yes, I state that the reader should check google- simply because it is a political cartoon/illustration.

      You don’t get my point? Well. Whilst a slightly more roundabout route, yes, I suggest the reader use Google for a number of reasons:
      1. That is the method my history class utilises, because,
      2. Then not only do you get cartoons on the topic/historical/political matter you search up, but, you also get a broader range of yes, interpretations and options of choice(that you may not get from searching, for example, just the one specific illustrator- they may have biases, usually do). That means, as I’ve recently suggested, you get differing perspectives and
      3. Whilst by no means amazingly accurate, with a bit of narrowing down if necessary, because for certain topics there dont seem to be any recent/post-event illustrations(past the span of a couple years- as far as we can tell), you can get a rough…weighing approximation of a particular perspectives popularity- and by whom.
      4. Which means maybe they wont be so biased preemptively.
      4.1. Thats not to say I’m not biased in this post, as it is my point of view expressed here. I’m sure I wrote that somewhere- or tagged that e.g. Journal entry, Point of view, rant. They’re concerns and thoughts of mine, and therefore subject to a mix of my interpretation or take on a subject and what I have been taught and researched- my sources.

      Hopefully that explained somewhat why I suggested google. Now, as for the artist titled, and more importantly youre point at my research skills; erm, yes I am aware the political cartoonist signed his political cartoon. Other than the fact that, at least in the UK, this is common practise, and that as previously stated here, it was my suggestion to google it other than look up the artist – I’m sorry if that going unsaid was, perhaps, too vague and/or complex a concept to conceive, it is almost always common practise for political cartoons. Again, I’m not sure if you knew this- in the UK, we are required to study a humanity for our GCSE’s- and I studied History. Which included analysis and therefore use of sources. Which include secondary sources and tertiary- and well, cartoons depicting opinions. So, yes, I was aware his name is signed.

      Now, in regards to the web address…
      Thank you for that. I will say that by searching the artists name, his official website will probably be the first or second result. Why did I not suggest this? Because whilst I was not only explaining my point of view, but, specific language here- “rant”-ing, I do admit it was not my first or second concern whilst typing. I also feel that would be a given- but then again, your suggestion could be taken that perhaps I should have included the source address in. Perhaps I will, but I reserve the right to, well, not. I disclaimed it, generically yes, and given the image in question(aforementioned point of search name available)-is in fact an image, there are many ways to search for its source. Not sure if you are aware, so I will do so now- you can drag it into the google image search bar, and that works, in another window.
      Or, given other reasons to look for a political cartoon (e.g. Other interpretations, or discussions on it), you could right click and select the option ‘search Google for image’ – though this one will probably not list the original source, it will list other websites that have mentioned it. As I have said before, if someone wished only to search the illustrators site- perhaps in hopes of an explanation or own analysis, which I have never come across, none of my History teachers and no one who has ever studied history that I have come across has, as far as I am aware (and this has been concluded, summed up, from situations that made this apparent)either. So I am not sure why they would want the original site for- perhaps other cartoons. Thats not my concern I suppose.

      Hopefully that answered all of your points enough. But if not, well, to be honest I don’t really care to answer anymore of them. At least not like this- I don’t know if where you are from the manner you communicated to me was the social norm, or somehow acceptable, but where I am from, it is considered rude. I wouldn’t have minded if you had made valid points or another route of reasoning against/differing from mine. But the fact is you did not offer me such. What you did instead was attempt to damage my credibility (as much as that can be in any way important; and it is, to me)- and in a non-constructively critical way. That’s not okay, just so we’re clear. So, I choose that if you do respond or post another comment, to respond- or not. My prerogative, yeah? Be polite, because its decent and giving me at least a modicum of respect. You know, the sort you give to any individual you meet. As I would do for you. I’ve attempted to be polite here. Can this be said of you? Now, whilst no one -especially yourself at this point- deserves or can demand as if its their right, me to give any information about myself, I think this would maybe help- whilst not an expert, I did study History for 7 years with teachers, and have a continued healthy interest in it, and viewpoints on what I learn, established and developed over time as I study more and attempt to gain perspective. Technically eight years, actually, though not exclusively this year.

      Again, I’d like to reiterate- and bring out of the suggested comments in here, incase it goes over someone’s head (which is, you know, okay. It happens)- this post is by no means polished or my best, as it says on the label (read: Tag), it is a rant post- expression. My point of view. My concerns.
      If you have any comments to add that are helpful, or your take on the interpretation I suggest, please feel free to comment.

  2. Also it’s commonly understood that disclaimers are needed when you don’t own something – hence the disclaimer.

Leave a Reply

